freq_wave: seven seas, Territorial Agency: Oceans in Transformation

Launching on Ocean Archive on May 23, 2020 – freq_wave: 7 seas – An internet-based interactive sound-installation.

A freq_wave is a rogue wave: unpredictable, sudden, and can impact with tremendous force. freq_wave: seven seas is a collaborative web-based sound project unleashing 84 rouge sound artists for the Ocean. This monster wave, curated by Carl Michael von Hausswolff, co-curated by Alonso Vazquez and commissioned by TBA21–Academy, will be launched on May 23rd on the online platform to bring attention to the threatened soundscapes of the sea. Unleash the freq for a living ocean!

Further info can be found at and

Participating artists: Jana Winderen, Finnbogi Petursson, Tommi Grönlund/Petteri Nisunen, Permagnus Lindborg, Mike Harding, Kent Tankred, BJNilsen, Jacob Kirkegaard, Maia Urstad, Christine Ödlund, Peter Rehberg, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Zavoloka, Dungeon Acid, Christopher Chaplin, Klara Lewis, Joachim Nordwall, Bethan Kellough, Christina, Kubisch, Anna von Hausswolff, Lise-Lotte Norelius, Francisco Meirino, Puce Mary, Nadine Byrne, Chris Watson, Ulf Bilting, Brandon LaBelle, JG Thirlwell, Dark Morph, Yann Novak, Chandra Shukla, Tim Story, Dorit Chrysler, Stephen O’Malley, John Duncan, Okkyung Lee, Maria Chavez, Randall Dunn / Chloe Alexandra Thompson, Kali Malone, Yan Jun, Gus Ferguson, Jim O’Rourke, Minoru Sato, Bana Haffar, Dickson Dee, Ryoji Ikeda, Basel Abbas/Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Kim Ngọc, James Webb, Lawrence English, Francisco Lopez, Cielo Vargas, Felix Blume, Sandra Gallo Corona, Aoki Takamasa, Jonny Nash/Esmee Geerken, RAMZi, Alice Eldridge, Lisa Schonberg, Asma Ghanem, Yannick Dauby, Von Lichtern, Sun Araw, Manja Ristić, Maia Koenig, Yambe Tam/Dylan Price, Soundwalk Collective, Dror Feiler, Tatiana Zobnina/Alonso Vázquez, Mats Lindström, Mark Fell, Adi Newton, Lary 7, Carl Abrahamsson, Tetsuo Furudate, Leif Elggren, Robert Crouch, Schneider TM, Zachary Paul, Thierry Charollais, Michael Esposito, Scot Jenerik, Daniel Menche, Scanner.

Release dates:
freq_wave 1 • May 23 (trajectory North Sea to Red Sea)
freq_wave 2 • June 6 (trajectory Gulf Stream)
freq_wave 3 • June 13 (trajectory Equatorial Pacific)
freq_wave 4 • June 27 (trajectory Mid Atlantic)
freq_wave 5 • July 4 (trajectory Indian Gyre)
freq_wave 6 • July 18 (trajectory Metropolitan Asia)
freq_wave 7 • August 1 (trajectory The Humboldt Current)