Talk and performance, MIT, Boston, to Commorate Marianne Amacher 22nd October, 2011

Intelligent Life

The Second Tribute to Commemorate Electroacoustic Pioneer Marianne Amacher Saturday, October 22, 2011 at 4–9 PM

4–6 PM Talks by Jana Winderen, Marina Rosenfeld, and Christopher Bergevin. Moderated by Micah Silver.

7–8 PM Sonic presentation by Jana Winderen

8–9 PM Diagram/for room and phonographic loudspeaker, sonic installation by Marina Rosenfeld

Curated by Ute Meta Bauer, ACT Director

MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology

ACT Cube (E15-001), 20 Ames St., Cambridge, MA, USA

October 22, 2011 marks the second anniversary of the passing of electroacoustic pioneer and CAVS fellow Maryanne Amacher. Intelligent Life is the title of an unrealized media opera that Amacher worked on for over a decade.

Maryanne Amacher was an American composer and installation artist whose pioneering work in acoustics and architectural installation paved the way to new forms of sound art and performance. In the 1970s, Amacher was a fellow at MIT's Center for Advanced Visual Studies (ACT's precursor) where she worked on her noted City-Links series.

For this year's tribute, we have invited two outstanding sound artists: Jana Winderen and Marina Rosenfeld, as well as Columbia University Auditory biophysics/physiology scientist Christopher Bergevin. The evening will be moderated by ACT graduate candidate Micah Silver, who along with artist Robert The co-founded the Marianne Amacher Archive.

Micah Silver will feature a selection of archival video footage and rarely seen interviews with Amacher; Jana Winderen will present underwater sound recordings and frequencies that cannot be heard by the human ear; Marina Rosenfeld will talk about psychoacoustics, the way we experience sound through our body and our psyche; and from Chris Bergevin we will learn about otoacoustic emissions, the sounds produced by the ear.

The program will culminate the live performances by Jana Winderen and Marina Rosenefeld.

This event is supported in part by the Office for Contemporary Art Norway.